top of page

History of the Waco Colony

The Society of Mayflower Descendants in the State of Texas, under the leadership of the Texas Society Governor Michael J. Hodnett, met April 6, 2002 and approved the addition of a new state colony in Waco.  The Charter was presented to Waco Colony Officers in Houston April 4, 2003 with the following members serving as

Organizing Officers:
Governor, Carol Scarborough
Deputy Governor, Michael J. Hodnett
Secretary, Brenda Jordan
Treasurer, Pat Thompson
Historian, Gale Gregory
Captain, William M. Marrs, II
Elder, Ellen Ross
Parliamentarian, Ann Lee


A Charter Luncheon for the newly established Waco Colony was held May 31, 2003 at the historic Hamilton House in Waco.

Members serving as Past State Governors are
 Michael J. Hodnett 2001-2003
Carol Scarborough 2013-2015
Members serving as Past Colony Governors are
Carol Scarborough 2003-2009
Ann Harder 2009-2011
Carol Scarborough 2011-2015
Ann Harder 2015-2017
Dottie Tate 2017-2021

bottom of page